A well-kept French secret: Franche-Comté

In the North-East of France, a not-so-famous region deserves a gold medal for its gorgeous landscapes and friendly inhabitants.

Emilie Fenaughty
4 min readJul 16, 2019

--

I always thought I’d have to travel far to enjoy my breath being taken away by some glorious landscape. Little did I know that only two hours and half away from Paris existed what was to become my favorite region in the country, if not in the world. What if I told you Franche-Comté has everything you can ask from the French countryside? Delicious food, mainly composed of smoked sausages that taste like heaven, or “Comté”, the cheese that gets its name from the place, as well as more exotic, and also more stinky but as scrumptious ones such as the “Cancoillotte” (pronounce “Can-kwa-yott”), or the “Morbier” (“mor-biay”).

For those who love vast, green spaces, Franche-Comté has everything to make you more than happy. A 5-minute bike ride out of downtown Besançon (its capital), down the Doubs river, gets you…

--

--

Emilie Fenaughty

French-American writer. Comedian. Traveller. Witch. Featured on VICE (fr) — or how I got paid to investigate life instead of going to therapy. Paris//Chicago